The Château


History


Built in Saint-Estèphe by the Merman family at the beginning of the 19th century, the building is distinguished by its unique architecture in the Médoc, referenced to the regional heritage.

Negotiating wines in Lille since 1804, the Cuvelier family, set foot in the Bordeaux vineyard by acquiring the Château Le Crock in 1903. It later bought the Châteaux Léoville Poyferré (2nd Grand Cru Classé) and Moulin Riche in Saint-Julien in 1920.

In 1947 Max Cuvelier moved to Bordeaux and created a second trading house: H. Cuvelier & Fils. His eldest son, Didier, was responsible for the day-to-day management of family property in 1979. For 40 years, he presided over the destinies of the fields, providing the same care and precision research in the production of wines in Saint-Julien as in Saint-Estèphe.

In 2018, Sara Lecompte Cuvelier (cousin of Didier) takes up the torch, leading the Château Le Crock on the road to excellence.

Recognized Cru Bourgeois Superior in 1932, the Château Le Crock has a strong link with the Alliance des Crus bourgeois du Médoc.

The vineyard


The Château Le Crock has 32 hectares of vineyards on an exceptional terroir composed of gravel, surface sand and clay in the basement. The benefits of these typicalities are the ability to keep heat, drain soils and provide a natural reserve of water. The vineyard is spread over three distinct settlement areas, enjoying exceptional richness and aromatic diversity. The proximity of the Gironde acts as a thermal regulator, thus avoiding excess temperature.

The traditional varieties of the Médoc, cabernet sauvignon (53%), merlot (33%), cabernet franc (9%) and petit verdot (5%), express at best the originality of the Saint-Estèphe terroir. Under the guidance of Jonathan Servant, a natural enthusiast with a degree in ecology and oenology, the conduct of the vineyard is intended to be environmentally friendly. Tillage, sexual confusion and smoking are privileged in order to minimize the use of chemicals.

The Harvest


After the maturity tests carried out by the head of culture and the oenologist castle, comforted by the external eye of our consultant Michel Rolland, the manual harvest begins at the end of September. For two weeks, the group of 60 harvesters harvests the grapes by hand, plot by plot. The harvest came in individual crates. The clusters are then poured onto the sorting table where the staff of the property select the most beautiful carefully. The berries, once separated from the scoop, join the Cuvier.

Photo of a pump over at Château Le Crock

The Vat House


Enologue castle at the property since 2000, Isabelle Davin oversees the activity of the vat house and the cellars. The harvest is received in 14 stainless steel tanks and 8 thermoregulated concrete tanks. In order to respect the terroir and depending on the characteristics of the grape varieties, the grapes are oriented in the different vats. Several daily windings will help in the smooth running of the alcoholic fermentation and allow to extract the color and tannins from the skin of the grapes. After a week of alcoholic fermentation and three to four weeks of maceration, comes the time of discharging and the malolactic fermentation performed partially in barrels.

Photo of barrel racking at Château Le Crock

The Cellars


The French oak barrels start from the finished malolactic fermentation and last between 16 and 18 months. Yoann Lavigne, cellar master, and his team are active in the cellar: topping and racking are necessary in order to bring the best breeding conditions to the wine. After several tasting sessions with our wine consultant Michel Rolland, the assembly takes place 6 months after the harvest. The vintages of Château Le Crock and Château La Croix Saint-Estèphe (second wine) are thus born. Bottling takes place 22 months after harvest.

Photo of harvesters at Château Le Crock

The Team


Around Sara Lecompte-Cuvelier, supported by culture chef Jonathan Servant, château oenologist Isabelle Davin and chai manager Yoann Lavigne, a team of 10 people supports the property throughout the year. From the vineyard to the bottle, combining tradition and modernity, all the know-how of this team concentrates to produce high quality wines in respect of the terroir and the identity of the Château.

Le Château


L'histoire


Édifiée à Saint-Estèphe par la famille Merman au début du XIXème siècle, la bâtisse se démarque par son architecture unique dans le Médoc, référencée au patrimoine régional.

Négociant en vins à Lille depuis 1804, la famille Cuvelier, met un pied dans le vignoble bordelais en acquérant le Château Le Crock en 1903. Elle achète par la suite les Châteaux Léoville Poyferré (2nd Grand Cru Classé) et Moulin Riche à Saint-Julien en 1920.

En 1947 Max Cuvelier s’installe à Bordeaux et crée une seconde maison de négoce : H. Cuvelier & Fils. Son fils ainé, Didier assure la gestion au quotidien des propriétés familiales dès 1979. Pendant 40 ans, il préside aux destinées des domaines, apportant les mêmes soins et la même recherche de précision dans l’élaboration des vins à Saint-Julien comme à Saint-Estèphe.

En 2018, Sara Lecompte Cuvelier (cousine de Didier) reprend le flambeau, menant le Château Le Crock sur le chemin de l’excellence.

Reconnu Cru Bourgeois Supérieur en 1932, le Château Le Crock entretient un lien fort avec l’Alliance des Crus bourgeois du Médoc.

Les vignes


Le Château Le Crock compte 32 hectares de vignes sur un terroir d’exception composé de graves, de sable en surface et d’argile en sous-sol. Les bénéfices de ces typicités sont la capacité à garder la chaleur, à drainer les sols et à constituer une réserve naturelle d’eau. Le vignoble est réparti sur trois zones d’implantations distinctes, profitant alors d’une richesse et d’une diversité aromatique exceptionnelles. La proximité de la Gironde agit comme régulateur thermique, évitant ainsi les excès de température.

Les cépages traditionnels du Médoc, cabernet sauvignon (53%), merlot (33%), cabernet franc (9%) et petit verdot (5%), expriment au mieux l’originalité du terroir de Saint-Estèphe. Sous la houlette de Jonathan Servant, un passionné de nature diplômé en écologie et œnologie, la conduite du vignoble se veut respectueuse de l’environnement. Travail du sol, confusion sexuelle et fumures sont ainsi privilégiés afin de diminuer au maximum l’utilisation de produits chimiques.

Les vendanges


Après les contrôles de maturité effectués par le chef de culture et l’œnologue château, confortés par l’œil externe de notre consultant Michel Rolland, les vendanges manuelles débutent fin septembre. Durant deux semaines, la troupe de 60 vendangeurs récolte à la main le raisin, parcelle par parcelle. La vendange est rentrée en cagettes individuelles. Les grappes sont ensuite déversées sur la table de tri où le personnel de la propriété sélectionne avec minutie les plus belles. Les baies, une fois séparées de la rafle, rejoignent le cuvier.

Photo d'un remontage au Château Le Crock

Le cuvier


Œnologue château à la propriété depuis 2000, Isabelle Davin supervise l’activité du cuvier et du chai. La réception de la vendange se fait dans 14 cuves inox et 8 cuves en béton thermorégulées. Dans un souci de respect du terroir et en fonction des caractéristiques des cépages, les raisins sont orientés dans les différentes cuves. Plusieurs remontages quotidiens vont aider au bon déroulement de la fermentation alcoolique et permettre d’extraire la couleur et les tannins de la peau du raisin. Après une semaine de fermentation alcoolique et trois à quatre semaines de macération, vient le temps des écoulages et la fermentation malolactique effectuée partiellement en barriques.

Photo d'un soutirage au Château Le Crock

Les chais


L’élevage en barriques de chêne français commence dès la fermentation malolactique terminée et dure entre 16 et 18 mois. Yoann Lavigne, maître de chai, et son équipe s’activent au chai : ouillage et soutirage sont nécessaires afin d’apporter les meilleures conditions d’élevage au vin. Après plusieurs séances de dégustation avec notre œnologue conseil Michel Rolland, l’assemblage a lieu 6 mois après les vendanges. Ainsi, naissent les millésimes des Château Le Crock et Château La Croix Saint-Estèphe (second vin). La mise en bouteille a lieu 22 mois après les vendanges.

Photo des vendangeurs au Château Le Crock

L'équipe


Autour de Sara Lecompte-Cuvelier, secondée par le chef de culture Jonathan Servant, l’œnologue château Isabelle Davin et le responsable de chai Yoann Lavigne, une équipe de 10 personnes fait vivre la propriété tout au long de l’année. De la vigne à la bouteille, alliant tradition et modernité, tout le savoir-faire de cette équipe se concentre pour élaborer des vins de grande qualité dans le respect du terroir et de l’identité du Château.